Commendations for mayors of:
Braga | Bristol | Dover | Graz | Greifswald | Kyiv | Malmö | Oliveri | Quelimane | Tremblay-en-France | Utrecht |

World Mayor essays
Essays by: Mayor of Dover | Mayor of Graz | Bürgermeisterin von Graz | Mayor of Greifswald |Oberbürgermeister von Greifswald | Mayor of Oliveri | Sindaco di Oliveri | Mayor of Quelimane | Mayor of Utrecht | Burgemeester van Utrecht |

ON OTHER PAGES: The 2023 Winners | The 2023 Finalists | About World Mayor 2023 | The 2023 Shortlist | The 2023 Longlist | World Mayor History | World Mayor Sculpture | Code of Ethics | Universal qualities of mayors | Press & Media |

World Mayor
Vitaliy Klitschko, Mayor of
Kyiv, Ukraine

The 2023 World Mayor Prize and Awards will be conferred on mayors who have demonstrated that by listening to and working closely with the citizens of their own communities as well as by forming partnerships and friendships with towns and cities at home and across borders, cities can succeed where nations struggle. Mayors shortlisted for the World Mayor Prize have been commended for their humanity, local leadership and their ability to bring people together.

Vitaliy Klitschko, Mayor of Kyiv, Ukraine, was a finalist for the 2023 World Mayor Prize and Awards for his courage at a time of war.

Commendations for
Vitaliy Klitschko
Mayor of Kyiv, Ukraine

Commended by Martin B., Austria
Vitaliy Klitschko is an example for good leadership. As a former sportsman the transition into politics is never easy and not meant for everyone. Most of the time political leaders are just confronted by the daily business of their job, which can be overwhelming already. Mr Klitschko however, had to be there for his people in the darkest times in centuries for Kyiv. During the start of the Russian war against Ukraine, Kyiv was one of the main targets. But it was possible to defend the city against the invaders. This is only possible, if there is good leadership and the citizens are able to not panic. Vitaliy Klitschko was able to provide that kind of leadership. Therefore, I don´t know what else could be more worthy of being World Mayor than the actions and toughness of Vitaliy Klitschko in the past one and a half years.

Commended by Michael W., Austria
I support Vitaly Klitschko. He now fights as mayor with the same endurance and strength as he once did as a boxer. It is impressive how he has embraced his new role in difficult times and is fighting for the freedom of Ukraine.

Commended by Georg S., Austria
I support Mayor Klitschko, because he is a constant example for bravery, endurance, sacrifice and love for his Country. And I vote for him from Austria, because the people of Kyiv have other things to do these days!

Commended by David R., Leipzig, Germany
I support Vitaliy Klitschko to be awarded the 2023 World Mayor Prize for his courage, integrity, leadership and ceaseless effort in protecting the citizens of Kyiv from the current Russian aggression.

In addition, over the years, he has been an inspiring role model both as a sportsman as well as a politician who has not only proclaimed democratic and European values but who has also lived and acted in accordance with them. Hardly any other mayor in the world today has had to deal with such a number of gigantic challenges and has managed them so well. A person of determination, great humanity, positive energy, authenticity and dignity - a force of the good that is left in this world and of which we need more.

Commended by Tim K., Bristol, UK
Vitaliy Klitschko stood with Kyiv residents during the Maidan.  Then when Russia attacked, he stood up again to tyranny. Few mayors are put in a position where their beliefs in democracy are so tested - Vitaliy has done this again and again.

Commended by Steffen K., Leipzig, Germany
Even before the war, the mayor of Kiev transformed his city into a functioning, affordable and, above all, ecologically sustainable public transport ...

During the war, despite Kiev's plight, he maintained all public functions of his city administration.Further, besides maintaining the city administration, he fights against the invaders of the country.He is a patron saint for his city and thus a role model for every mayor on this earth.

Commended by Daniëlle R., Netherlands
Dear Vitaliy, dear organisors, Please note my support for the mayor of Kyiv to become the World Mayor of 2023.

Commended by Jan L., Netherland
I support Klitschko as best mayor.

Commended by Annette K., Germany
Ich möchte eine Stimme für Vitaliy Klitschko, den tapferen Bürgermeister der überfallenen Stadt Kyiv, abgeben. 

Commended by André K., Germany
I am André and i live in Leipzig / Germany. I think Mr. Klitschko is the best Mayor in the world.

For your information:
The World Mayor Project, organised by the philanthropic City Mayors Foundation since 2004, has no connection with any city or organisation and is run on strictly non-commercial lines. Sponsorships, advertising, subscriptions, donations or any other kind of revenue are NOT sought and will be rejected, if offered.

All personal information you provide us with will be treated in strict confidence. Your email addresses will NOT be passed on to any third parties. Also, we do NOT collect data by cookies or other hidden means.

Please contact us if you have any further questions. Please insert 'World Mayor 2023' in the subject line of any email.

© Copyright: All content of the City Mayors and World Mayor websites is protected by worldwide copyright. Please contact us if you wish to use any material from the City Mayors, World Mayor or Women Mayors websites.

The City Mayors Foundation
London SW1
Tel: +44 20 8439 7978
The World Mayor Project was conceived in 2004 by the City Mayors Foundation to raise the profile of mayors worldwide and honour those who have contributed exceptionally to local and urban affairs. Mayors must carry out their duties selflessly and beyond reproach. The Project has no association with any city or organisation and is run on philanthropic lines. Any kind of revenue is NOT sought and will be rejected if offered. DETAILS

Winners of the World Mayor Prize since 2004: Edi Rama, Tirana (2004); Dora Bakoyannis, Athens (2005); John So, Melbourne (2006); Helen Zille, Cape Town (2008); Marcelo Ebrard, Mexico City (2010); Iñaki Azkuna, Bilbao (2012); Naheed Nenshi, Calgary (2014); Bart Somers, Mechelen (2016); Valeria Mancinelli, Ancona (2018); Ahmed Aboutaleb, Rotterdam (2021); Philippe Rio, Grigny (2021); Elke Kahr, Graz (2023) DETAILS